New Zealand Visa Waiver Countries - See if you need an NZeTA

By Julia

April 21, 2023

New Zealand Visa Waiver Countries

Traveling to New Zealand

Persons who are not New Zealand passport holders but want to travel to New Zealand need to have a valid visa or be from New Zealand visa-waiver countries.

A visa waiver agreement allows eligible citizens with an effective eTA to enter New Zealand visa-free. NZeTA is an electronic travel authorization that permits one to visit the country numerous times for tourism, business purposes, and tourism-related purposes in a span of the validity period.

The period of effectiveness is 2 years from the date of eTA’s approval. However, NZeTA for airline and cruise crew members remains effective for 5 years. The allowed period of stay for one visit is 90 days.

Nationals from visa-waiver countries can apply with a few clicks: it is needed to fill in the form with the required information, cover fees, and check the email for a confirmed New Zealand eTA.

When planning your trip, check the visa requirements for New Zealand and see whether you have visa-free access or need to attend an embassy.

How many countries can have visa-free entry to New Zealand?

New Zealand passport holders, New Zealand residents, and Australian citizens (due to the Trans-Tasman Travel Arrangement) have visa-free entry to New Zealand and only need to present their valid passports to cross the country’s borders.

Also, there are currently 60 countries that have a visa waiver agreement with New Zealand. Citizens of these countries can enter New Zealand visa-free, provided that they have a valid NZeTA:

  • Andorra
  • Argentina
  • Austria
  • Bahrain
  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia (citizens only)
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hong Kong SAR
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Korea (South)
  • Kuwait
  • Latvia (citizens only)
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macau
  • Malaysia
  • Malta
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • USA – including US Nationals
  • Uruguay
  • Vatican

New Zealand eTA application process

NZeTA has a similar application process to an online visa. In order to receive a Zealand eTA, eligible citizens are able to apply online in a speedy and straightforward way from any place with an internet connection.

It is necessary to follow the New Zealand eTA application instruction:

  1. Complete an application form. You need to provide your personal, passport, and travel details.
  2. Check if your data is complete, relevant, and doesn’t contain errors.
  3. Upload the required documents.
  4. Make the payment online using any of the methods available on the website.
  5. Wait for the application to be processed and get approval via email.

How long is it allowed to stay in New Zealand with NZeTA?

A New Zealand eTA is a multiple-entry permit, so nationals of visa-waiver countries can enter New Zealand an unlimited number of times within its validity period. NZeTA stays valid for 2 years from the date of its issue.

One visit to the country cannot exceed 3 months (90 days). After you use 90 days, you need to leave the territory of New Zealand. On your next visit, you can spend another 90 days in the country, provided that eTA is still effective.

If you need to stay for a more extended period of time (that exceeds 90 days), you need to apply for a visa at the embassy. Depending on the purpose of your stay, you can choose between a visitor visa, student visa, family visa, work visa, investment visa, entrepreneur work visa, working holiday visa, or work-to-residence visa.

A resident visa holder can obtain a permanent resident visa upon satisfying all conditions and demonstrating a commitment to New Zealand, which allows them to remain in New Zealand unconditionally.

New Zealand eTA requirements

Since the NZeTA application takes place entirely online and remotely, you need to meet some technical requirements:

  • your device must be working and connected to the internet (you can use a smartphone/laptop/tablet/PC)
  • you should be able to pay online (payments can be completed with PayPal, debit or credit card)
  • your email address must be active and accessible.

It is also necessary to attach the required documents:

  • a valid passport that doesn’t expire within a minimum of 6 months from entry into the country
  • an applicant’s digital photograph – must be passport-style and of decent quality; it can be taken with a phone or PC camera if the conditions are satisfied.

What if I am not from a visa-waiver country?

If your country does not have a visa waiver agreement with New Zealand, you cannot enter visa-free and are required to apply for a New Zealand visa.

Contact the nearest consulate/embassy to make an appointment. Attend the office to fill out the application form, provide the demanded documents, and have a visa interview.

You need to apply for a visa to New Zealand if you are a national of the following countries:

  • Aland Islands
  • American Samoa
  • Anguilla
  • Antarctica
  • Aruba
  • Bermuda
  • Bonaire
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Christmas Island
  • Cocos Islands
  • Congo
  • Cook Islands
  • Curacao
  • Falkland Islands
  • Faroe Islands
  • French Guiana
  • French Polynesia
  • Gibraltar
  • Greenland
  • Guadeloupe
  • Guam
  • Guernsey
  • Isle of Man
  • Jersey
  • Lebanon
  • Lesotho
  • Martinique
  • Mayotte
  • Montserrat
  • New Caledonia
  • Niue
  • Norfolk Island
  • Northern Mariana Islands
  • Pitcairn Islands
  • Puerto Rico
  • Reunion
  • Saint Barthelemy
  • Saint Helena
  • Saint Martin
  • Saint Pierre and Miquelon
  • Sint Maarten
  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
  • Svalbard and Jan Mayen
  • Tokelau
  • Turkmenistan
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Uganda
  • United States Virgin Islands
  • Wallis and Futuna
Avatar for Julia


Julia's expertise lies in providing professional content, simplifying the visa application process for travelers worldwide. Her dedication to delivering valuable and accurate information, combined with her love for exploring new cultures, inspires others to discover new horizons and embark on their own adventures.